Nominations open for $100,000 Taubman Prize

The nomination period for the $100,000 Taubman Prize for Excellence in Translational Medical Science is open, announced the A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute at the University of Michigan.

The deadline for entries for the 2016 award is Feb. 1. 

A panel of nationally prominent experts will judge nominees based on their contribution to translating basic research findings into clinical applications and by the manner in which their clinical practice connects to their research.  All clinician-scientists worldwide are eligible, excluding U-M researchers.

Contest rules and the nomination form can be found at:

The Taubman Prize was established in 2011 to recognize the clinician-scientists making the most significant contributions to translating basic research findings into medical practice.  Recipients are required to serve as the keynote speaker at the Taubman Institute's annual symposium, which in 2016 is scheduled for Oct. 21.

The 2015 Taubman Prize recipient, Mahlon DeLong, M.D., professor of neurology at the Emory University School of Medicine, will present the keynote address at the Taubman Institute's annual symposium on Oct. 16, 2015 at the U-M medical campus.